Standards of Points

Unlike other, less realistic, simulations, is set up to have different standards for each breed. Your dog is being judged not only according to its stats, but also according to how closely it matches the breed standard. The scale of points gives a certain number of points to each trait based on what is considered important in that breed. How this works in judging is that a dog gets more credit for a perfect 10 in a trait that is considered important, and less credit for a perfect 10 in a trait that is considered less important. This also means that dogs with bad numbers can still sometimes do well in shows if the bad number is for a trait that is less important. You can view the scale of points for your breed by clicking on the name of the breed on the Difficulty List.

There are two formats the breed scale of points may follow on

20 - 1
15 - 1
10 - 3
5 - 3


15 - 2
10 - 4
5 - 2

Note: higher values are more important.

Last Updated: 6/15/2011 8:38:46 AM

Did you know?
The figure 8 exercise requires the team to heel in a figure 8 pattern either on or off leash. Generally two of the ring stewards will assist the judge with this exercise by acting as "posts", standing 8 feet apart, that the team walks around to form the loops of the figure 8.